An arrest based on a DUI in Virginia is a serious situation. It can mean that a driver will, if convicted, lose their license and have other possible penalties to face. However, the penalties associated with DUI convictions in the Commonwealth are not all the same. As a person accumulates more DUI convictions on their record their punishments will become more and more severe.
For example, a first-time DUI conviction will result in a $250 fine and the possibility of the driver losing their license for a year. If they are convicted of a DUI crime again within 10 years of their first conviction, they will be mandated to spend 10 days in jail with the possibility of a sentence of up to one year, a mandatory fine of $500 and the possible loss of their license for up to 3 years.
A third DUI conviction within a 10-year period will result in the indefinite revocation of the driver’s license as well as minimum file of $1,000. Once a person’s number of DUI arrests and convictions reaches this level, their subsequent arrests may be prosecuted as felonies under the law.
As readers can see, the penalties for DUI convictions in Virginia are serious and can impact drivers’ lives forever. When charged with a DUI crime, it is important that a driver take swift action to begin the process of defending themselves. They may consider reaching out to a criminal defense attorney who works with DUI clients to better understand their legal situation, the penalties that they may face with conviction and the defense options that may apply to the facts of their individual case.